{Preschool at Our Home}: Math, Logic, and Science!

Shalom,

Preschool planning has been so fun! This school year we are focusing on simple math and delving into science for the first time! I’m excited to share our curriculum selections and favorite learning toys with you all!

{Math & Logic}

I had been looking for a preschool math curriculum when I came across a company called Timberdoodle. Timberdoodle’s curriculum kits include highly rated and reviewed curriculum products and I decided to check out their recommendations for preschool math and logic at our local homeschool store. I loved the layout of the books, the contents, the brightly colored pages, and that they are non-consumable workbooks that I can use again in the future!

 Mathematical Reasoning Beginning 1 

mathreason

Building Thinking Skills Beginning 

thinking skills

{Here is a link to an in-depth review I uploaded to my Youtube Chanel.}

Since I don’t plan to have my daughter write in those books, I decided to pick up a few consumable workbooks for $3 each from Five Below. Of all the preschool workbooks I’ve picked up from places like Target, Costco, or Dollar Tree… I love these the best!

Big Skills for Little Hands – Numbers

numbers

Big Skills for Little Hands – Colors & Shapes

colors

Wipe Clean Workbook

wipeclean

I definitely recommend one of these for writing practice!!! I found ours at Five Below for $2!

{We plan to do 2-3 math lessons a day.}

 It’s important that most of a preschoolers learning comes from hands-on play! Check out some of our favorite math/logic learning toys:

Lauri Toys Number Puzzle Boards and Pegs

Melissa and Doug Classic Wooden Abacus 

Melissa and Doug Bead Sequencing Set 

Melissa and Doug Pattern Blocks and Boards

Melissa and Doug See-Inside Numbers Pegs

Melissa and Doug Shapes – Chunky Puzzle

Melissa and Doug Days of Creation Nesting Blocks

Melissa and Doug Lacing Beads 

Shape O Ball (Shape Sorter)

Lacing Shapes 

Counting Bears

***{Here is a link to an in-depth review of our favorite math learning toys and manipulatives on my Youtube channel.}***

 Lastly, here are links to my favorite printable resources for preschool math.

Color Pattern Cards

Duplo Number Cards

Number Flash Card

{Science}

For science this year, we are doing unit studies on the human body, animals, the environment, and plants.

Bubbles, Rainbows, & Worms

bubble

I am basing our unit studies off the suggested experiments and reading lists in Bubbles, Rainbows, & Worms, a resource recommended by Susan Wise Bauer in The Well-Trained Mind.

Our first unit is all about the human body!

We will be using My Body Lapbook printables from Homeschool Share for our daily work.

science1

Here are links to the books we are using for our unit study:

My First Human Body Book (Dover) – Great human body coloring book for preschoolers!

See Inside Your Body (Usborne)

Flip-Flap Body Book (Usborne)

What Happens to Your Food? (Usborne)

What do you eat? by Sally Lloyd-Jones

The Berenstain Bears and Too Much Junk Food

My Silly Body and Book by P. Hanson

Look What Hashem Gave Me by Sara Ginsburg ( A sweet book that introduces body parts and the five senses!)

For hands-on learning we LOVE this puzzle from Hape!

Your Body – 5 Layer Wooden Puzzle by Hape

puzzel

And this Magnetic Anatomy Set!

magnetsc

And of course, links to more resources!

 Printable Life Size Skeleton Puzzle

Benny Bones iPad App

Human Body Science Experiments (Part 1) & Human Body Science Experiments (Part 2)

Human Body Crafts

Blessings,

Maayan

Leave a Reply

