Oriyah’s 2 1/2 Year Update

ori

Oriyah is a big girl now. She has changed so much over the last year! On one hand, it’s hard for me to believe she was ever as little as Noach. On the other hand, I miss her being a baby so much! 

 

Ori is a fun-loving out-going toddler. Everything Ori does she does with enthusiasm from singing songs to throwing fits. She is loud, energetic, opinionated, sassy, smart, and oh so sweet. (It’s a good thing too!)

 She is non-stop and always wants to be on the go. She will literally wait at the front door and ask to go for a ride in the car. She loves interacting and playing with other kids.

 One of the best decisions we have made this year is to put her in a mother’s day out preschool program. She goes three days a week from 9:30-2:30. She loves school! She wakes up every morning asking to put on her ladybug rain boots and “pack-pack!” I can tell she has really benefited from the structure, preschool activities, and opportunities to play with friends her school has provided. A few weeks ago I went to my very first parent teacher conference! Her teacher shared how Ori is the class mom. Whenever someone is hurt or crying she tries to make them feel better by giving hugs and sharing toys! She has befriended a little guy who is slow to talk and looks out for him at school. Every morning on our way in we have to say “hi” to the goldfish in the lobby fish tank and on our way out we have to stop by the rock garden to add to our collection. :/

As far as sleeping goes… she takes naps at school but it is really hard to get her to settle down at home. She is still sleeping in her crib. I am not really in a big rush to transition her into a toddler bed. I am afraid!!!

Big news! She weaned at 28 months. I am really happy to have nursed her as long as I did but am also happy not to be tandem nursing anymore. It happened on its own without me forcing it. She is slowing venturing out and trying new foods. For a while, I felt so guilty that she subsisted of blueberries and cheese sticks entirely! She loves protein pancakes, eggs, chicken nuggets, hotdogs, mac and cheese, broccoli, peanut butter, and all fruit. At our last pediatrician appointment, she weighed in at 25.5 lbs and was in the 30th percentile. I think she is starting to fill out now and look more like a little girl and less like a baby. 😦

 Her hair has grown a ton the last couple of months. So have her feet! (Stride Rite… why do you have to be so expensive?!?)

We are working on personal hygiene. She HATES baths. I don’t know what happened but right around age 2 she started tripping out at bath time… I mean full on kicking/screaming/wailing/shaking/punching! I kept telling myself it is something that she would grow out of but it has been six months! We finally got her to brush her teeth and wash her hands at least! We haven’t started potty training yet but she is showing more of the developmental signs that she is ready. I think its in our near future.

She is a great big sister. The adjustment to having a new sibling went pretty smoothly. She loves to give Noach hugs and kisses but still needs lots of reminders to be soft and gentle.

 Some of Ori’s favorite things to do are play outside, read books, play with cars, watch Barney or Shalom Sesame, color, help cook, and make HUGE messes.

Everyday she changes. She talks a lot, asks questions, and repeats EVERYTHING.

She can sometimes be a very difficult child and I get overwhelmed or frustrated with her. When she acts out it is hard not to feel like a bad parent and stress. I try my best to respond in a positive manner and show mercy while still setting clear boundaries. It’s hard. Props to parents of strong-willed feisty toddlers who have gone before me… you all are my heroes. (And thanks Mom and Dad for putting up with my shenanigans… I have been told Ori reminds them so much of me!)

 I love her to pieces though! I like to watch her when she doesn’t notice me. You can see her little wheels turning as she plays and explores. Her little hands are always busy. I love the pitter-patter of her little feet trailing behind me… everywhere I go! Her smile is contagious. My heart melts with each of her kisses. I can’t imagine life without her!

Over the last 2 1/2 years, she has taught me what it really means to love, give, serve, cherish, trust, know true happiness, and acknowledge Hashem’s masterful creation, each time I look at my beautiful child. She has changed my life… for the better.

She will always be my baby girl.

Shalom,

Maayan

Leave a Reply

