“The Blueberry Bush”

blueberry

 

 

Every so often, there are those precious moments when G-d uses your children to teach you a life lesson that penetrates your heart. This is one. :o)

Before we moved, we lived on the third floor of our apartment complex. NEVER AGAIN! Lugging a car seat, diaper bag, purse, and groceries up that many stairs is not fun!

However, one of the favorable ammenties of our complex was the beautifully landscaped courtyard, complete with a water fountain and picnic tables. When Ori started walking, I would take her for walks and watch her toddle about. It was fascinating to watch her little eyes soak in the sights and explore the new surroundings outdoors.

Our walks became a regular part of our morning routine. Ori quickly become adventurous and determined to examine and inspect everything within reach. One day she discovered the “blueberry” bush. I was a ways behind her, scrolling through my e-mails. When I looked up, she was gobbling up poisonous berries from a shrub along the path. They closely resemembled her favorite fruit, blueberries! She thought she hit the jackpot. Panicked, I dashed over and swiped the berries from her hands and fished them out of her mouth. You should have seen the look on her face!

Her big soft brown eyes welled up with tears and her bottom lip started to quiver. She was perplexed at why I had done such a mean thing as to take the snack right out of her hands! I felt terrible. I dropped to one knee, drew her in for a hug, and wiped her tears. I tried to explain that *those* berries were not really what she thought but could actually hurt her and I took them away because I loved her. She still was not too pleased. I told her I had the *real deal* waiting at home for her.

Her reaction nearly broke my heart. She thought I was angry… that I didn’t love her… that I was mean, when all I wanted to do was protect her from something that could harm her.

It made me think about how G-d must feel at times!

During different times in my life, I have been angry with Him. I thought He was mean and cruel. I felt like He didn’t really love me or care because He would not let me have something I wanted. Looking back, (with the new perspective) I can see… He was protecting me from potential harm. Even though those things seemed like what I really wanted or needed at the time… Hashem knew that something better was waiting for me. He is all about the *real deal*.

 

Psalm 103:13 
As a father has compassion on his children, so the L-RD has compassion on those who fear him;

Proverbs 3:11-12 
My son, do not despise the L-RD’s discipline
and do not resent his rebuke,
because the L-RD disciplines those he loves,
as a father the son he delights in.

B”H,

Maayan

One thought on ““The Blueberry Bush”

  1. Pingback: {Melting} | Shalom in the Home

Leave a Reply

