{Stealing Away}

A special thanks to my wonderful mother for inspiring the content of this post. 😀

The most precious part of nursing my baby is stealing away with her. From changing rooms in the mall to a closet at a friends place (the only quiet unoccupied room) – a baby has to eat! I regularly have to steal away from the life of the party and find a quiet place to nourish my little one. Sometimes it’s hard. I’m just human and don’t always want to take the time to stop what I’m doing. Most of the time it’s very sweet. While others are busy bustling about I’m holding my most valuable possession in my arms – just loving on her.

While the world equates Friday sundown to Saturday sundown as party-time, Hashem has ordained it as a time for me to steal away Him. I withdraw from my regular activities and schedule to enjoy the Shabbat and meet with Him as He nourshes and renews my soul. Sometimes it’s hard. I’m just human and don’t always want to take the time to stop what I’m are doing. It’s hard to decline a Friday night outing with friends or turn down an invite to a birthday party scheduled for Saturday afternoon. Most of the time it’s very sweet. While the world keeps moving a hundred miles an hour – I press pause. I spend time with my King on a day he created just for me.

Just as the season of nursing little ones in our journey of motherhood ends too soon… so does the weekly Shabbat!
Embrace that time with your babies mama’s and embrace the Shabbat!

B”H,

Maayan

2 thoughts on “{Stealing Away}

  1. Pingback: more reasons to smile « torahgirl had a baby

Leave a Reply

