I AM SHORT

I stand proudly at 5’2 {on a good day}. I am short. I’m never going to be great at basketball, a model, or fit jeans properly… and none of that really bothers me. I don’t like basketball. Even if I was tall enough to be a model I like food too much. My personal goal to wear skirts alleviates the issue of pant lengths. Problems solved!

I am a wife, mom, daughter, sister, and friend. I fall short. It does bother me. Is there a solution?

Today; was an exceptionally short day… I’d say I measured a measly 4 feet.

As a wife I want to be the constant encourager, advocate, and source of renewal for my husband. I want to show him how I really feel about him. I want to have a tidy home and hardy meal for him to enjoy every day. I fall short.

As a mom… I want my daughter to know she is cherished, loved, and welcomed. I want her to know she is never too much work. I want her to know I will always be there for her, make time for her, and make decisions with her welfare in mind. I fall short.

As a daughter… I want to honor my parents. I want to remain close to them. I want them to know I am so thankful for their influence in my life and for the sacrifices they made for me. I fall short.

As a sister… I want my siblings to know even though I am far away I think of them every day! I miss them. I want them to know I will always have “listening ears” if they want to talk. I fall short.

As a friend… I want the sweet ladies in my life to know I am reliable. I want them to feel welcome in my home. I want to be in tune to the needs of others and be a source of encouragement for other tired mama’s. I fall short.

After spending much of the day short on grace, love, and patience… I had a moment. {You know… the moment where the stars align and a voice from the heavens say’s… “Would you stop being such a MORON?”} When I realized how many “better parts” I missed out on today… I was saddened. I fell short.

Did you know there are midgets taller than me? For real! New advancements in medicine allow for individuals to add inches to their height by breaking the bones in their legs and allowing new bone to grow! Sounds painful but worth it if you really don’t want to have ask random strangers in the grocery store to hand you *whatever* you need that is *always* on the top shelf!

Don’t you wish there was a procedure that would allow you to add inches to your spiritual stature? Me too! Turns out we are in luck! It’s called life. The constant weights of the world, struggles we face, “falling” short of _______________ (fill in the blank), and battling the yetzer hara – equates to spiritual brokenness.  New growth comes from meditating on the Torah and the power of the Ruach to turn our hearts back to Hashem when we allow him to. Baruch Hashem! He is never short on mercy or grace.

 “who says, “I will cut off the horns of all the wicked, but the horns of the righteous will be lifted up.” Psalms 75:10

“The LORD upholds all who fall and lifts up all who are bowed down.” Psalms 145:14

May we have the binah and clarity to look to Hashem in our brokenness and allow him to rebuild us.

Shabbat Shalom,

Maayan

2 thoughts on “I AM SHORT

  1. Wow! I love it. Despite our “short comings” and our inability to “measure up” to Hashem’s level of Righteousness, we have a Mashiach that humbly imputes His Righteousness on our behalf!

Leave a Reply

