Oriyah

ORIYAH ALEXANDRIA

“Light of G-d”

Born July 20th, 2011.

9:07 PM

7 lbs 5 oz.

19 3/4 in.

Ori was  born gently and peacefully in water into her  fathers hands. Our birth was a beautiful testament of how birth can and should be… as natural as possible. During the course of my 19 hour labor I was encouraged and comforted by scriptures, prayers from the woman’s siddur, soft music, essential oils, the use of a birthing tub, unhindered movement, and the gentle hands of my husband, mother, and midwives. Our bodies are truly fearfully and wonderfully made and Hashem is truly merciful!

~Her Name~

Oriyah means “light of G-d”

Alexandria means “defender of man” (after her daddy) 😀

Our prayer is that she will bring the light of Hashem to everyone she comes in contact with, especially her people Israel.

  The following scriptures were the inspiration for her name.

Daniel 12:3
“And those who are wise shall shine like the brightness of the sky above; and those who turn many to righteousness, like the stars forever and ever.”
Psalm 112:4
Even in darkness light dawns for the upright, for the gracious and compassionate and righteous man.
Isaiah 42:16
I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them.
Isaiah 49:6
he says: “It is too small a thing for you to be my servant to restore the tribes of Jacob and bring back those of Israel I have kept. I will also make you a light for the Gentiles, that you may bring my salvation to the ends of the earth.”

B’H,

Maayan

2 thoughts on “Oriyah

  1. A new dimension of love has arrived with sweet baby Ori – it is a beautiful thing.

    I loved the picture you used of Ori on your site. 🙂

    Love ya,
    Sue

Leave a Reply

