My Favorite “Resolution” Scriptures

A few years ago, I put together this list of scriptures that relate to planning and goals. I keep this list of verses in my home-management binder next to my annual goals. I find it very encouraging. :0)

In the house of the wise are stores of choice food and oil, but a foolish man devours all he has. Proverbs 12:20

Plans fail for lack of counsel, but with many advisers they succeed. Proverbs 15:22

The plans of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the L-rd. All the ways of a man are pure in his own eyes, but the L-rd weighs the spirit. Commit your work to the L-rd, and your plans will be established. Proverbs 16:1-3

In his heart a man plans his course, but the L-rd determines his steps. Proverbs 16:9

Many are the plans in a man’s heart, but it is the L-rd’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 16:9

 The plans of the diligent lead to profit as surely as haste leads to poverty. Proverbs 21:5

Finish your outdoor work and get your fields ready; after that, build your house. Proverbs 24:27

We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised. Hebrews 6:12

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Yeshua, the author and perfectwr of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of G-d. Hebrews 12:1-2

…But he who plans noble things, on noble things he stands. Isaiah 32:7-8

For I know the plans I have for you, “declares the L-rd,” plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future. Jeremiah 29:11

Be very careful, then, how you live – not as the unwise but as wise, making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil. Therefore do not be foolish, but understand what the L-rd’s will is. Do not get drunk on wine, which leads to debauchery. Instead, be filled with the Spirit. Speak to one another with psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the L-rd, always giving thanks to G-d the Father for everything, in the name of our L-rd Yeshua. Ephesians 5:15-21

Then the L-rd replied: “Write down the revelation and make it plain on tablets so that a herald may run with it.” Habakkuk 2:2

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life? And why do you worry about clothes? See how the lilies of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how G-d clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? So do not worry saying, “What shall we eat?” or “What shall we drink?” or “What shall we wear?” For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Matthew 6:25-34

And I am certain that G-d, who began the good work within you, will continue His work until it is finally finished on the day when Yeshua returns. Philippians 1:6

I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which G-d has called me heavenward in Yeshua. Philippians 3:14

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things. Philippians 4:8

 I can do everything through Him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13

“Therefore, in the present case I advise you: Leave these men alone! Let them go! For if their purpose or activity is of human origin, it will fail. But if it is from G-d, you will not be able to stop these men; you will only find yourselves fighting against G-d.” Acts 20:38-39

However, I consider my life worth nothing to me, if only I may finish the race and complete the task the L-rd has given me – the task of testifying to the gospel of G-d’s grace. Acts 20:24

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run is such a way as to get the prize. Everyone who competes in the games goes into strict training. They do it to get a crown that will not last; but we do it to get a crown that will last forever. Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating air. No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize. 1 Corinthians 9:24-27

Let all things be done decently and in order. 1 Corinthians 14:40

Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the L-rd, because you know that your labor in the L-rd is not in vain. 1 Corinthians 15:58

And here is my advice about what is best for you in this matter: Last year you were the first not only to give but also to have the desire to do so. Now finish the work, so that your eager willingness to do it may be matched by your completion of it, according to your means. For if the willingness is there, the gift is acceptable according to what one has, not according to what he does not have. 2 Corinthians 8:10-12

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Messiah’s power may rest on me. That is why for Messiah’s sake, I delight in weakness, in insults, in hardships, in persecution, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Be diligent in these matters; give yourself wholly to them, so that everyone may see your progress. 1 Timothy 4:15

Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the L-rd, not for men, since you know that you will receive an inheritance from the L-rd as a reward. It is the L-rd you are serving. Colossians 3:23-24

Shalom,
Crysta

2 thoughts on “My Favorite “Resolution” Scriptures

Leave a Reply

